Project Q Forums
September 04, 2010, 12:22:07 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the new Project Q forums! Please update your bookmarks!
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Spam or no?  (Read 650 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Gonzo_og
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 40



« on: March 15, 2010, 09:46:17 PM »

***WARNING***
I haven't clicked on any of the links, and I advise YOU to avoid it as well until we can figure out if this is legit or not.
***WARNING***

You have just been sent a personal message by MichealTracy on Project Q Forums.

IMPORTANT: Remember, this is just a notification. Please do not reply to this email.

The message they sent you was:

Dear, Gonzo_og!

A virus alert was noticed on your computer.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://anti-malware.servebbs.org/online-scanner/Gonzo_og
If you do not pass this test  we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP with attached log file (your IP address, etc.).
----------------------------------------------------
Forum Administration www.qnwn.net

Reply to this Personal Message here: http://www.qnwn.net/forums/index.php?action=pm;sa=send;f=inbox;pmsg=792;quote;u=455

***WARNING***
I haven't clicked on any of the links, and I advise YOU to avoid it as well.
***WARNING***
Logged
Raven_Xantrice
Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 27


I'm


« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2010, 12:37:41 AM »

I have this post, too!
Logged
Ben Harrison
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35



WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2010, 01:41:46 AM »

It's spam. Don't click anything.

I got one of these on another forum (my ISP's forums, ironically enough) recently as well.
Logged
morikahn
Character Artist
Q Team
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 906


« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2010, 01:47:02 AM »

I'll ban this account immediately, sorry about this. I'll contact Tricky, our web host, and see if he has anything to say about it.
Logged
_six
Character Artist
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 216


Sacrificial Fodder


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2010, 07:24:44 AM »

Crafty beggar only sent those spam PMs to non-team members eh? I thought that guy's account suspicious but didn't want to ban since he hadn't to my knowledge done any spamming.

As a message to all, if you recieve a message 'from admin' it should either by signed with TrickyHandz, morikahn or Six, and even if it is, please check with us on the forums or IRC before doing anything it involves. We've had something of a wave of spammers to fight over the last couple of months, though most of them we catch very quickly.
Logged

Thanks!
- Six
Gonzo_og
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 40



« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2010, 09:38:59 AM »

Hey spammers, IFYPFY:

Quote
Dear, Gonzo_og!

No virus alert was noticed on your computer.
We highly recommend you to stop checking your computer and performing virus checks. (Also please disable No-Script.) This makes it harder for us to perform drive-by-downloads at our site: http://anti-malware.servebbs.org/online-scanner/Gonzo_og

It seems to come with the territory of having forums. Glad I checked.
Logged
pkpeachykeen
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2010, 12:08:08 PM »

Heh, got this too. One of the least credible attempts at spam I've seen yet (except for maybe my 77 Middle Eastern relatives who passed away in the last month).
I know how much of a pain it is to run a spam-free forum, so thanks for handling it quickly.
Logged
Andarian
Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31



WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2010, 02:28:44 PM »

Crafty beggar only sent those spam PMs to non-team members eh? I thought that guy's account suspicious but didn't want to ban since he hadn't to my knowledge done any spamming.

The way I've gotten into the habit of handling those cases on the AME Site is to look them up on Stop Forum Spam:

http://www.stopforumspam.com/

If they look suspicious and I find them already reported there as a spammer then I'll pre-emptively ban their account.
Logged

olcottr
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2010, 05:31:13 AM »

That's great Andarian.  Everyone, never click a link sent to you in an e-mail.  Always go straight to the source or use your own shortcuts or favorites.
Logged
Gonzo_og
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 40



« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2010, 08:45:17 AM »


The way I've gotten into the habit of handling those cases on the AME Site is to look them up on Stop Forum Spam:

http://www.stopforumspam.com/

If they look suspicious and I find them already reported there as a spammer then I'll pre-emptively ban their account.


That looks handy. Could be used for a forum RBL during your registration process.
Logged
pkpeachykeen
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2010, 06:48:53 PM »

Just got another from "JoshuaaNave". At first I thought it was an email without a PM, but then I noticed the (well-hidden) PM indicator (on a side note, in the time I was convinced it was only an email, I backtracked the sender's address through the headers and replied, so if anyone gets a brief, smart email, well, sorry Cheesy).
« Last Edit: April 05, 2010, 06:57:00 PM by pkpeachykeen » Logged
morikahn
Character Artist
Q Team
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 906


« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2010, 07:10:33 PM »

I'll smack this one.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.9 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!